Le Champignon Sauvage, 12 course, 2 star michelin.

The  12 course ” Menu Surprise ” at David Everitt Matthias – Le Champignon Sauvage restaurant.

I had already studied chef David everitt – matthias cooking techniques and style from his two cook books full of recipes from his restaurant “Le Champignon sauvage” down in Cheltenham.I say “down” because its quite a long way down to eat there…  5 hours down exactly.Quite a long drive for dinner but what the hell , it`s Michelin 2 star , he`s a cracking chef, his food looks amazing and if it makes me smile and feel happy then it`s all well worthwhile…..so its bags packed,  my fave c.d on, and  off down the M6 motorway.

David learned his craft from one of the fantastic old school 3 star  French chefs , Pierre Koffmann at his London restaurant Le Tante Claire in London.He opened his Cheltenham restaurant in 1987 and since that day he hasn`t missed a service..that`s dedication.I had read quite a few reports about the restaurant and also studied the 3 and 4 course menus and managed to whittle down myself a nice 4 course dinner choice for my night in the restaurant.What i really didn`t expect was Davids offer to “cook for me” and after quickly browsing the menu , i was told to hand it back and the good news that i was in for a treat…. 12 courses and Davids “Menu Surprise” would be heading my way.

So here`s the meal , start to finish, exactly as it came to us.I`m not going to start telling stories about the decor , what other guests were talking about or the weather outside.Ill just let the photos speak for themselves and let you enjoy a little trip into the food of          “Le Champignon Sauvage” ….Enjoy.

SOME PRE DINNER NIBBLES – PARMESAN CUSTARD IN CHORIZO CRUMBS , BRIOCHE CRISPS AND GROUND ELDER DIP , BACON AND SWEETCORN MUFFINS.

WALNUT AND BLUE CHEESE COOKIES , GUINNESS BREAD , SMOKED HORSERADISH AND PIGS EAR BISCUITS.

CHICKEN MUSHI WITH CAULIFLOWER FOAM.

DEXTER BEEF TARTARE AND CORNED BEEF,

WASABI CREAM, PICKLED SHIMEJI MUSHROOMS

DIVED SCALLOPS, ‘CROWN PRINCE’ PUMPKIN, CHESTNUT VELOUTÉ,

CHESTNUT AND WHITE BALSAMIC CARAMEL

ROASTED HAKE, PARSLEY ROOT PURÉE,

REMOULADE OF PARSLEY ROOT, CHICKEN JUICES

CORNISH DAB, BRAISED COCKS COMB, WILD GARLIC AND SCARLET ELF CUP FUNGI.

WINCHCOMBE VENISON, HOMEMADE BLACK PUDDING

SALT AND BURDOCK BAKED GOLDEN BEETROOT, ROASTED QUINCE

CARROT PORRIDGE, MILK FOAM

RHUBARB POACHED WITH HIBISCUS, MASCARPONE CREAM,
RHUBARB AND HIBISCUS SORBET, GIN AND TONIC SYRUP

VANILLA CHEESECAKE, SALTED CHICORY ROOT MOUSSE,

BITTER CHOCOLATE SORBET

LE CHAMPIGNON SAUVAGE SELECTION OF 10 PETITS FOURS I managed to eat 5 of these before throwing the towel in and giving up….They were quickly boxed up for me to finish off next morning at breakfast.

Le Champignon Sauvage on Urbanspoon

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I am so excited because I’m booked to go there at the end of April for my birthday!!!!

    I wanted to go last April but couldn’t make it, have enjoyed looking through his books, love his flavour ideas. Only used one recipe as an inspiration to make my own recipe but if I had the time I would go through his books and cook much from it.

    Looking at your photos of it makes me look forward to it even more. I don’t know why he’s not more talked about, he’s so talented.

  2. so glad you enjoyed the meal and thought the journey was worthwhile. David E-M is a food hero and is worth a 100x most of the TV celeb chefs who are never found in restaurants that have their name. at LCS, you know that David will be in the kitchen and that the food will therefore be first class. all serious foodies should go there.

  3. Gordon says:

    Unfortunately bad experience when I went
    . Would try again with all the hype I see. Was on a horrible table where I think they tried to hide us, and service was slow. We ended up wanting to just get out and rushed our meal.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.